Hötidliga Högmässan (Solemn High Mass, Swedish style)

Via Rick Ritchie in the comments to my post yesterday on Swedish Lutheranism, here is a series of videos (continuing after the fold) from a Solemn High Mass at Uppsala Cathedral.

I haven’t watched all of these yet, but what I have seen was great to watch (love the opening hymn – such a joyful tune, plus INCENSE!). Please be warned, though, that it’s filmed in Glorious Shaky-Cam®, so people with inner ear infections or who are prone to motion sickness should probably avoid it…

1. Processional

2. Preparation speech

3. Kyrie Eleison and Gloria et Laudamus

4. The Holy Gospel

5. Eucharist

6. Communion

7. Recessional and hymn outside church

14 thoughts on “Hötidliga Högmässan (Solemn High Mass, Swedish style)”

      1. I know that from my Roman days as “Holy God We Praise Thy Name.” Google says the tune is a Te Deum from the Katholisches Gesangbuch of Vienna, 1774. And indeed the words I know for it are a paraphrase of Te Deum.

        I couldn’t watch all of these but from what I saw it looks not terribly unlike my local parish. Fancier, of course. More personnel, including women. But that’s about it. I like the proclamation of the Gospel from the center aisle, which we also have. Where does that come from?

      2. According to this page, it’s a 60s innovation based on a misinterpretation of ancient liturgical texts. They say that like it’s a bad thing. 😉

        As for the opening hymn: yes, I recall its occurrence in the Lutheran Service Book (hymn 940) is as a Te Deum setting.

      3. Yeah that’s the very one.

        How much do you trust that page? I’m suspicious of unreferenced historical claims occurring in the middle of of the argument they support. In any case, based on my experience as a reader and cantor, I’m not at all sure making the reader invisible is such a bad thing.

      1. Oh, right. What’s the crime rate like in Uppsala, I wonder? Is it one of those “if it’s not nailed down…” type of places? 😉

  1. I once visited an Anglo-Catholic parish. Their thurifer was a long-haired Southern Californian given to spending time at the beach. I liked to refer to him as the surfer thurifer.

Leave a Reply

